The ever-morphing family cookbook

Sweet Scones April 2, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Vegetarian — eikonministries @ 12:10 pm
Tags:

Well, we’ve been living in England for around 7 months, and I’m just now landing on a scone recipe. And actually, I can’t think of what else new, culinarily speaking, I’ve acquired here… Sorry, England. But these are wonderful.

2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup (113 grams) cold butter
approx. 2/3 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup dried fruit if desired (the typical choice is raisins)

Preheat oven to 400F

So, from what I read, the “trick” is in how you mix the dough. 1st, combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk together.

Next, “cut” the butter into the dry ingredients till it’s all well mixed and crumbly. I just use my hands. It’s so much easier.

If you are adding dried fruit, mix them in now.

Combine milk and vanilla, then add it to the dry ingredients slowly. Only add enough to bring the dough together. For me, this last time, I used much less than the stated amount, but I had also doubled the recipe. So, I suggest just be ready for anything.

The big warning in this step is to not overwork the dough. Just do enough to make a ball.

Once it comes together into a ball, put it out on your floured surface and pat it into a 1 inch thick shape. If you like the triangle shaped scones, a circle is best so that you can cut it pizza-style.

Cut your shapes with a sharp knife or biscuit cutter (rotate while pressing down in order to get a higher rise while baking)

Place on baking sheet and sprinkle with sugar or apply an egg wash (I’m never this fussy)

Bake about 20 min. in center of oven, or till browned.

 

Leave a comment